DIGITAL_DEVIL_DATABASE Community Forum
August 20, 2022, 01:05:04 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

News: 2011: http://www.digitaldevildb.com/bbs/index.php/topic,1031.msg10894.html
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Just one thing....... (Read 5471 times)
Atticus
*

offline Offline

View Profile
Atticus says,
 « on: September 01, 2008, 07:43:44 PM »
Can you play this on USA Vista Computer? or would it need Japan computer?


Logged
Atticus has 3 Posts (+10/-0 Karma)
yksehtniycul
The Karma King and
New Administrator
*****

offline Offline

MaleView Profile WWW
don't play with me 'cause you're playing with fire
yksehtniycul says,
 « Reply #1 on: September 01, 2008, 08:02:14 PM »
No such thing as a Japanese PC that will run Windows wink

If you have Vista Ultimate you will have a much easier time. If not you need to make sure your system locale is Japanese (this could make some programs that detect the system locale change to Japanese)

Vista won't change to Japanese though (it isn't that smart)

edited: You'll also wan't the East Asian font subsystem installed, and you should probably install/use the red Japanese IME.

« Last Edit: September 01, 2008, 08:04:08 PM by yksehtniycul »


Logged
yksehtniycul has 2094 Posts (+0/-0 Karma)
Atticus
*

offline Offline

View Profile
Atticus says,
 « Reply #2 on: September 01, 2008, 08:08:40 PM »
so its easyer set up on a Vista computer?
If so I get one =D



Logged
Atticus has 3 Posts (+10/-0 Karma)
yksehtniycul
The Karma King and
New Administrator
*****

offline Offline

MaleView Profile WWW
don't play with me 'cause you're playing with fire
yksehtniycul says,
 « Reply #3 on: September 01, 2008, 08:32:53 PM »
so its easyer set up on a Vista computer?
If so I get one =D

Well I've always played on Vista myself. But it has many drawbacks. If you don't have Ultimate afaik there is no way to run apps in their own custom locale. Whereas XP has applocale, which sets it's own locale then runs an app like IMAGINE as a child process (well I've never used it actually -- but that is how I'd guess it works)


Also Vista constantly wants to switch into admin mode if you're doing anything unusual. This will make IMAGINE disappear immediately. Dunno if that is a security precaution or just a bug/feature :)

« Last Edit: September 01, 2008, 08:34:33 PM by yksehtniycul »


Logged
yksehtniycul has 2094 Posts (+0/-0 Karma)
Maverynthia
Bishie Demon Hunter
**

offline Offline

View Profile
Maverynthia says,
 « Reply #4 on: September 04, 2008, 07:46:02 AM »
so its easyer set up on a Vista computer?
If so I get one =D

It's actually MUCH easier on XP
Install East Asian font (If you don't have them already)
Install Japanese IME (set it as default)
a:
Get AppLocale
Run The Update with AppLocale and have fun

b:
Set Unicode program to Japanese

You can install without any of that, but it makes the "Moon Speak" render properly.
All of that is from the Control Panel > Regional Options except applocale which is on the Microsoft site...



Logged
Maverynthia has 52 Posts (+10/-0 Karma)
yksehtniycul
The Karma King and
New Administrator
*****

offline Offline

MaleView Profile WWW
don't play with me 'cause you're playing with fire
yksehtniycul says,
 « Reply #5 on: September 04, 2008, 08:04:12 PM »
Vista is identical. It just doesn't have straight forward applocale type program.

As far as I know, IMAGINE is still a non-unicode application. The installers might be however (if everything was Unicode you wouldn't have to worry about the locale business)



Logged
yksehtniycul has 2094 Posts (+0/-0 Karma)
Pages: [1] Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.5 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.048 seconds with 20 queries.